Profile of Jamaica

“The fairest isle mine eyes ever beheld”.

Those are the words Columbus supposedly uttered when he sighted Jamaica in 1494

Overview of Jamaica

Jamaica is the third-largest island of the Greater Antilles and the largest English-speaking territory. Situated south of Cuba and west of Haiti in the North West region of the Caribbean Sea, Jamaica has a maximum length, from east to west, of about 235 km (146 mi); the maximum width being around 80 km (50 mi). The total area of the nation is approximately 10,991 sq km (4,244 sq mi). Recently regarded as an archipelagic state by the Maritime Areas Act, Jamaica’s territory extends beyond its coastline to comprise some 66 islands, rocks and cays.

The island is divided into three counties – Cornwall, Middlesex and Surrey – which are subdivided into 14 parishes: Kingston, St. Andrew, St. Catherine, Clarendon, Manchester, St. Elizabeth, Westmoreland, Hanover, St. James, Trelawny, St. Ann, St. Mary, Portland and St. Thomas. Each parish has a capital town, which is typically the centre of commerce and two parish capitals, Montego Bay in St. James and Kingston, have city status. Kingston, located on the island’s southeast end, is Jamaica’s capital.

Kingston is the capital and largest city of Jamaica, and also a large commercial seaport.

Official Name – Jamaica
Capital – Kingston
Population – 2,711,476
Area – 10,991 sq km (4,244 sq mi)
Official Language – English
Currency – Jamaican dollar (JMD)


Surrey: Kingston, St. Andrew, Portland, St.Thomas

Middlesex: St.Catherine, St. Mary, St. Ann, Manchester, Clarendon

Cornwall: Hanover, Westmoreland, St. James, Trewlany, St. Elixabeth

Dunns River Falls

Photo by Jamaica Tours

Leave a ReplyCancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.